Arts and Humanities News
   UCSD News | Center

 For complete info click   Details following each category


Stephanie Jed, Patrick Gleason


Marcel Henaff is selected by the UC San Diego Academic Senate as a recipient of the 2010-2011 Faculty Research Lecturer Award. Each year only two awards are made for the entire campus, one for the Natural/Medical Sciences and one for the Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences. Professor Henaff will deliver a one-hour lecture on the topic of his choice in the coming year.

Catherine Ploye has earned a 2010 UC San Diego Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award.

Please join us in congratulating Professor Henaff and Dr. Ploye on these exceptional achievements.




Honors Program & Spring Celebration of the Arts: Ceremony & Reception

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

2:45 -  4:30 p.m. 

Literature Building, Room 155 (deCerteau)

Followed by a Reception in Room 138 (Lettau) 


Undergraduate Honors Students and Literature Faculty are invited to the Annual Department of Literature Honors Program & Spring Celebration of the Arts: Ceremony and Reception.


The winners of the Burckhardt Honors Award and Sherley A. Williams Memorial Prize in Fiction will be announced at the ceremony. The winners of the Stewart Prize in Poetry and the Milton Saier Award for Fiction will also be announced, recognizing the talents of Department of Literature undergraduate students. Please join us!

Yin Wang was awarded a conference travel grant by China and Inner Asia Council, Association for Asian Studies, for the AAS 2011 Conference in Hawaii. Additionally Yin received a year-long dissertation fellowship by Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation.

Eileen Myles, Anna Joy Springer, Tara Jane Oneil, and Rachel Carnes

Wednesday, June 1, 2011
4:30 - 6:00 p.m.
Zanzibar at the Loft
Free and open to the public

Wai-lim Yip: Multi-Lingual Reading (English, Chinese, Spanish, French)
June 9, 2011
7:00 p.m.
Asian Court, San Diego Museum of Art



Some sections are a summarization. For complete information click the " Details ..." hyperlink.