Beijing conference held on the poetry of Professor Wai-lim Yip
UCSD Professor of Chinese and Comparative Literature

On March 29 and 30, 2008, a conference was held in Beijing, China on Professor Wai-lim Yip’s 50 years of poetic writing. Wai-lim Yip is a professor of Chinese and Comparative Literature and Film Studies in the Literature Department, Division of Arts and Humanities, at the University of California, San Diego.


Faculty Research Grants
The Faculty Research Grant was awarded to Luis Martin-Cabrera, UCSD Professor of Literature for his research in the Audiovisual Archive of the Spanish Civil and the Francoist Dictatorship. The grant will support research and research planning activities of faculty teams whose intellectual interests promise to produce significant collaborative projects.


The Future of Writing: Call for Papers and Call for Digital Artwork
University of California, Irvine
November 6-7, 2008

Networked communications technologies have become a significant part of American life, resulting in a nearly unprecedented generation of a variety of multimediated texts, many graphically rich and collaboratively written.


Robert Cancel and Winifred Woodhull,  Alain J.-J. Cohen, Marcel Hénaff, Misha Kokotovic, Gabriela McEvoy, Donald Wesling [More]


Sarah Shun-lien Bynum has been named an Interdisciplinary Research Award (IRA) recipient for spring quarter 2009. The program, launched by the Senior Vice chancellor-Academic Affairs, is expected to stimulate new interdisciplinary research and teaching by our faculty. The program aims to promote cross-disciplinary faculty interactions from which interdisciplinary fields typically arise, and to engage broader collaboration across disciplines.


Spring Celebration of the Arts

The winners of the Stewart Prize in Poetry and the Milton Saier Award for Fiction were announced Wednesday, May 28, 2008, recognizing the talents of Department of Literature undergraduate students.

Stewart Prize in Poetry

 Winner: Thomas Trudgeon

Runners-Up: Tess Bryant, AC Castro

 Milton H. Saier Award for Fiction

 Winner: Felipe Martinez

Runners-Up: Kedar Reddy, Kate Hey

Honorable Mention: Taylor Christensen, AC Castro



Ph.D. Defenses

Alexa Weik – May 27, 2008
Beyond the Nation: American Expatriate Writers and the Process of Cosmopolitanism

Maria Bernath – May 30, 2008
Entre dos orillas: voces del exilio conosureño en España (1975-2002)

Shih-szu Hsu – June 5, 2008
Manifest Domesticity in Times of Love and War: Gender, Race, Nation, and Empire in the Works of Louisa May Alcott, Maria Amparo Ruiz de Burton, Gertrude Atherton, and Pauline Hopkins

Heidi Hoechst – June 6, 2008
Refusable Pasts: Speculative Democracy, Spectator Citizens, and the Dislocation of Freedom in the United States

Qualifying Exams

Daniel Quiros – May 29, 2008
James Wicks – May 30, 2008
Edward Avila – June 2, 2008
(also received MA in Literatures in English)
Mary Reid – June 5, 2008
Dixa Ramirez – June 6, 2008
(also received MA in Comparative Literature)
Gabriela Santizo – June 9, 2008 (also received MA in Spanish Literature)
Andrea Dominguez – June 10, 2008
Scott Boehm – June 11, 2008
(also received MA in Literatures in English)
L. Chase Smith – June 12, 2008
Jason Homer – June 13, 2008
(also received MA in Literatures in English)



ART Produce Gallery

May 23 - July 26, 2008

3139 University Avenue, San Diego 92104

 Artist's Reception

June 14, 2008]

6:00 - 9:00 p.m.


The title of this traveling exhibit reflects the desire and commitment to create a dialogue among several artists from Victoria B.C., Canada and San Diego. The chatter between the two cities began with Unnatural Wonders in 2006 at the Kinemacolor building in down town Victoria, British Columbia showcasing the variety and aesthetic innovation of a diverse group of west-coast artists. What brings the participant artists together for Push Pull is also their commitment to education and the desire to create exchange. What marks our works is a sense, either internal or external, of place unattached to location. Artists: Bradley Muir, Anna O'Cain, Megan Dickie, Blair Thornley, John Luna, Pasquale Verdicchio, Wendy Welsh, Richard Keely, Inga Romer, Leslie Ryan, Sandra Doore, Lynn Susholtz



Aimee Bahng and Elizabeth Steeby will be presenting their respective papers Imperial Rubber: Residues of U.S. Empire in the Brazilian Rainforest and Prisons Without Walls: Labor, Criminalization, and Culture in the U.S. South on a panel together at the American Studies Association Annual Meeting in Albuquerque, New Mexico (October 16-19, 2008).


Scott Boehm, Department of Literature Graduate Student, has been named a student fellow by the Human Rights Center at University of California, Berkeley. The fellowship will support his work with the Association for the Recuperation of Historical Memory in Spain this summer and fall.

Marcel Hénaff was invited in April to deliver the 2008 Bernheim Lectures at St Louis University Brussels on Terreur, courage et résistance. He also addressed the annual conference of the Union of Teachers in Genova, Italy on Otherness and recognition [L'Altro e il riconoscimento].


Gabriela McEvoy presented a paper entitled Arabs and the New World: Turcofobia, a new form of racism in Chilean society, at the American Comparative Literature Association (ACLA) Conference. Longbeach, April 2008.


2008-2009 LiteratureDepartment Dissertation Fellowships (one-year):
Aimee Bahng

Benjamin Balthaser

Jamie Rosenthal

Edwige Tamalet


2008-2009 Literature Department Dissertation Fellowships (one-quarter):

Isa Murdock-Hinrichs

Chunhui Peng

Amanda Solomon

Michelle Stuckey

2008-2009 Center for Humanities Fellowship (one-quarter):

Gabriela McEvoy